Personal Garden Coach

The Motivational Gardener at Large

Hydrangea P. ‘Quick Fire’ Burns Bright for Summer and Fall October 14, 2009

Hydrangea Paniculata and ALL of her relatives is one shrub that I would have to put on my “Never to be without” list of plants. I can only compare my passions for these shrubs by contrasting  it this way:  It is to Hosta lovers “Patriot”, it is to Rose enthusiasts “Mr. Lincoln”, it is to Edibles growers “Sweet Basil”.  No longer can I be without some form of one in my garden.

When I first started on this former bachelor pad back yard, there was only a sorry patch of grass. Among the very first plants I put in were three, three gallon pots of Hydrangea ‘Quick Fire’ by Proven Winners. What a fabulous LOW MAINTENANCE shrub!

The benefits of incorporating this plant into any landscape are so terrific, I would be hard pressed to find a down side. They have a lovely, dark green leaf with a delicate texture. All Hydrangea Paniculata’s begin blooming at the opening bell of summer, with creamy white panicles. And with each passing day they produce more and more blooms that age with elegance. Each head of blooms color enriches more and more  until it becomes a champagne peach, a blushing rose or even a dark, feisty mauve like ‘Quick Fire’, depending on which variety you may have.

As fall rolls in, then the slow burn begins! ‘Quick Fire’ will deepen its bloom color into its last phase, then the fiery fall foliage comes on each day to the last encore of fall sun before the curtain drops on winter.Pruning is a breeze with this group of shrubs too- basically it’s hard to do it wrong! How refreshing is that? :-)

Soon after I got those in the ground, was fortunate to be able to buy a tree form of Hydrangea ‘Angel Blush’. She is smack in the middle of my dining room window at eye level and I adore her! ‘Angel Blush’ struts her stuff right up until the very last leaf has fallen and even then she will not drop her blooms unless I personally snip them off for winter flower arrangements.

Cold hardy, non- fussy and performing to the end, Hydrangea Paniculata should not be missed- not if I have anything to say about it!

Soon, I will have to make that list of mine:“The “Never To Be Without” Plant List. But, until then, the factored requirements to make it on my list have just gotten just a little bit harder due to the high performance bar set by these Hydrangea’s.

Now I’m jonesin to find a spot where I can load up the garden with Hydrangea ‘Limelight’. This creamy limecicle of a blooming shrub is truly fabulous and I can’t wait to figure out what other foliage colors I’ll put with it!

“Listen up plants, you now have competition in your ranks, and I suggest that you all perform admirably- OR ELSE.”

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Hydrangea P. ‘Quick Fire’ Burns Bright for Summer and Fall”

  1. Darcy Says:

    Quick Fire is on my short list as well! It’s looking really great right now in some of my gardens paired with ornamental grasses; especially Miscanthus ‘Adagio’ and M. ‘Morning Light’.

  2. Cynthia Kritikos Says:

    Do you consult in Las Vegas,Nv?

  3. Kristen Says:

    I just planted 2 quick fires in my yard. They are only about 2 feet tall right now. I can’t wait to watch them grown!

  4. Gloria Says:

    We planted Quick Fire, Limelight and Pinky Winky varieties last summer. The deer LOVE the tender new growth, so we have been forced to fence in those varieties. The deer do not bother our other varieties. Oh, yes, and they also love the diablo ninebarks we put in last summer. Those are now also fenced.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,040 other followers