Personal Garden Coach

The Motivational Gardener at Large

Gardening Gone Wild ‘Picture This’ Photo Contest January 11, 2011

The excellent ‘Gardening Gone Wild’ blog has a super-cool photo contest section on the site that you can read more about here: http://www.gardeninggonewild.com/?p=15262. Up to now I have been WAY to intimidated to throw myself in to the ring because I don’t really have the type of camera that I know could perform much better in order to even compete with all of those other fabulous garden photographers. However, this month I just couldn’t resist!

Professional photographer David Perry is the MUCH admired judge for this months photos, and he came up with an idea for the contest that even I felt like I could do! It’s called “Macro In A Mason Jar”. I think it’s utterly brilliant!

The idea is that you use the jar to balance the camera to get luscious macro professional looking shots. David Perry took it a step further and gave us some fun and creative ideas for the outer balance of the shot too. I had so much fun with this idea! I tried a few different flowers and styles of jars.

I think I have an amazing new idea for a photo trick that I can use forever. Thank you http://www.gardeninggonewild.com/ for inspiring my entry into the contest!

 

 

22 Responses to “Gardening Gone Wild ‘Picture This’ Photo Contest”

  1. [...] See the rest here: Gardening Gone Wild ‘Picture This’ Photo Contest [...]

  2. Lynn Wilhelm Says:

    Gorgeous photo. I’m gonna try this.
    None of my Hellebores are blooming yet, but I’ll find something.

    • personalgardencoach Says:

      Thank you Lynn! It might literally be the ONLY thing I have blooming right now! It was in a container up on my protected porch all nice and snuggy. :-)

  3. Good one! I like the interesting background lines setting off the flower form.

  4. Alison Says:

    I absolutely love your picture entry (much better than my own)!

  5. aerie-el Says:

    What a gorgeous photo! It’s a winner in my book!

  6. Angelyn Says:

    I love what you designed. Great composition and colors. You made an excellent choice for the jar’s background..

  7. Love the image you submitted! This was a fun experiment, wasn’t it? I can’t wait to try it this spring/summer when I have some blooms. Slim pickin’s right now. I ended up entering a rock :-) Best wishes on the contest!

    • personalgardencoach Says:

      Thank you SO much Toni! I am so pleased to see all the great new entries into the contest. I loved your rock!

  8. Lynn Says:

    I really like what you did, especially with the background. Thank you so much for your comment on my post.

  9. I love the wavy effect from the fabric. It’s a lovely shot!

  10. Hi, I love the wavy effect too! Good luck in the competition – and thanks for the vote of confidence in my rather simple shot…

  11. Super idea! Thank you much….
    Melody

  12. [...] Contest January 11, 2011 personalgardencoach.wordpress.com [...]

  13. [...] Gardening Gone Wild 'Picture This' Photo Contest В« Personal Garden … Jan 11, 2011 … See the rest here: Gardening Gone Wild 'Picture This' Photo Contest [...] Reply · Lynn Wilhelm Says: … [...]

  14. [...] I played Portrait Studio! I did this once a few years back when I entered the Gardening Gone Wild Photo Contest and learned an invaluable little photo trick from David Perry, one of my photography [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,069 other followers