The Coach learns as much as the Client

To be a Garden Coach, I have to keep myself open with all client interactions to what they might have to teach me in each interaction as well as when I’m leading them in discovery. My clients teach me to be a good listener, a compassionate guide, a confidant to their foibles and a cheer leader.

I am forever in a position to make certain that even though my clients hire me for my expertise and creative abilities, I have an inherent obligation to make sure that I practice from a position of openness, discovery, intuition and let what they have to guide me in to shine through.

I think that sometimes we all get caught up in making sure that our message gets across when we’re teachers that we forget to learn from our students too.

Are you open to your students? Whomever they may be?

Leave a Reply

