The Last Gasp of Fall Color

Rhus Typhina or Sumac is in all her glory right now. I saw this in my E-Mail today http://www.ubcbotanicalgarden.org/potd/2009/10/rhus_typhina.php and thought about the ones in my neighborhood with such glorious color on them I had to run out and take some pictures to share.

Fall color 10-22-09 002

In some areas of the country this small tree might seem ubiquitous as we sometimes feel about some of our common trees  here in the green Northwest. But, you have to hand it to Mother Nature on this one- she out did herself!

Fall color 10-22-09 003

After chatting with neighbors on this lovely fall evening, I found a couple of other fall color shots that stood out too. Enjoy!

Autumn Blaze Maple

Autumn Blaze Maple

Leafy Carpet

Leafy Carpet

7 thoughts on “The Last Gasp of Fall Color

  1. Hi, Christina, I found your blog through Blotanical. Welcome to our community of garden bloggers around the world. Your have a great blog here with many colourful photos. The foliage in this post is so deliciously red and appealing. I like all the pictures.

  2. Just when you thought you’d heard it all, you found Blotanical. I used to wonder why I visited 30 blogs on Bloom Day and got messages from so few. Interacting with Blotanists opened up a whole new world (literally, the world).

Leave a Reply

