Renee’s Garden, ‘Spitfire’ Nasturtium & the GROW Project

Renee’s Garden Seeds started a wonderful program called the GROW Project with the help of coordination from garden blogger “Mr. Brown Thumb” to get as many garden bloggers as possible to grow the same plant, write about the experience and build a sense of community and camaraderie with other gardeners. I think this idea is terrific! It’s such a simple and straightforward way to encourage, not only the great garden bloggers out there, but the seed growing part too!

I've been saving my recyclable containers for this project!

Renee’s Seeds was also very generous to send us all the Double Cosmos ‘Rose Bon Bon’ too! Now the mission is to figure out where my new babies will eventually land in my little garden design world.

I love to re-arrange the plant furniture frequently in my garden and a side benefit of that work is that I use it as an excuse to change up my color schemes in certain planting areas every year. And it just so happens that the lovely, vibrant scarlet of these ‘Spitfire’ Nasturtium plays right into this years color scheme of Oranges, Blue/Purples and Yellow. I can’t wait!

What I can’t decide is where to put these climbing or cascading lovelies. Luckily the Hummingbirds will find these beacons of tasty color no matter where I put them. But, my garden is very small. So, this decision is one that I will be mulling over for a while as the seeds are doing their thing!

Here’s some places that I’m contemplating. What’s your opinion?

Love the idea of the blue and scarlet together here in this pot, but the standard blooms a very soft pale pink

Please excuse the background plants. They had a VERY big move in January this year. Currently we’re having three different kinds of crazy winter as of this writing on Easter Sunday! So, I haven’t planted much yet.

The 'Creeping Wire Vine' will be coming out of this pot- this one might be a contender!

Oooh, Black and Scarlet could be REALLY dramatic together in the front yard!

OK everybody, now it’s time to put on your voting hats, what’s your idea? Help me decide where these would look MOST tantalizing!

Whoo-hoo! I’m growing Nasturtium “Spitfire” for the GROW project, THANKS to ReneesGarden.com for the seeds. And be sure to check out all of the other wonderful Garden Bloggers who are writing about this project too. You can find an ever growing (seed humor🙂 list of those links here: http://grow.gardenbloggers.com/p/seed-grow-project.html

8 thoughts on “Renee’s Garden, ‘Spitfire’ Nasturtium & the GROW Project

  1. I vote for the pot with the standard. I grew Moonlight last year and the vines get kind of long and the base gets bushy. Maybe the scale of the pots is off in the pics, but the two smaller pots may look out of balance once the plant gets going.

    With the standard you could let some of the foliage hang off the pot or weave it up the trunk of the standard.

    • Very interesting thoughts. The pale pink bloom on the standard doesn’t sound icky with the scarlet? Might just do it anyway! Thanks!

  2. I’d go for the middle one … or the last one but I’m slightly favoring the middle one. The blue of the pot with the fiery red and the light green of the tree I think would be a hit!
    The last one could look cool too though! Why not both?🙂

  3. Hey Ms. Christina. I’m not sure what a “starndard” is but I like the idea of the red ‘Spitfire’ with the deep blue of that big pot. Do you think they’d vine up whatever you have in that pot (is that the “standard” I’ve heard tell of here?), or would you let them trail over the side? And I also like the idea of the “Black and Scarlet . . . . together in the front yard” too. But my first choice would be that big and lovely blue pot.

  4. Pingback: Renee’s Garden ‘Spitfire’ Nasturtium Update! « Personal Garden Coach

Leave a Reply

