Salvia ‘Tri-Color’: One Plant, Four Ways

Salvia Officianalis ‘Tri-Color’ or simply ‘Tri-Color’ Sage, has been one of my “go-to” plants for many years now. You might even call it my “salvation”🙂  It’s wonderful attributes are numerous. Yet, for as long as I have been loving this plant, I am stilled stopped dead in my tracks at the lovely beauty of it at each of its stages through the growing season.

It has been plain old dreary here in the Great Northwest to say the least, after our borderline tropical winter, thanks to “El Nino”. We’ve been averaging 10 to 15 degrees below normal for spring and the rain has been, let’s just call it “thorough” to be polite. I may be more inclined to use heavier words in a few days.

I literally had a few short precious hours of dry weather to mow the lawn and do some tidying after all of this constant rain. While sweeping the sidewalks, I was completely thrown at how lovely the ‘Tri-Color’ Sage was coloring up and budding. The more I looked at it, the more I realized what a complete superstar it is in my garden right now! I just had to take these shots to show you how the intensity and complexity of the foliage and the buds at this stage of the season are SO flexible with a variety of plants.

From delicate to bold, from high contrast to cool harmony, this plant is a drought tolerant and easy going workhorse for me and might be one that you should try too! One VERY important tip on maintenance: DO NOT do any pruning on this plant if you live in a cooler climate until at least early April. I learned that one the hard way!

2 thoughts on “Salvia ‘Tri-Color’: One Plant, Four Ways

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Salvia ‘Tri-Color’: One Plant, Four Ways « Personal Garden Coach -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Gardeners on Twitter, Garden TV, and Container Gardening Inspiration | North Coast Gardening

Leave a Reply

