Focal Point Trees

My tiny back yard has recently undergone a massive makeover this spring. I’m still finishing up a few details before I share it with all of you. But, I wanted to make a point about Focal Points and Focal Point Trees in particular. A small or large-scale tree placed strategically in the landscape for its shape, texture, color can add an immeasurable amount of artistic flair and drama with very little effort.
This brand new Larix pendula, ‘Weeping Larch’ does just that here at the end of my path as it opens into the main yard. In fall when the needles turn a warm gold and drop, then I will have that incredible weeping structure to look at all winter. WIN WIN!
Frequently, I have customers and clients who are SO bloom focused for the few weeks of a flowering tree or shrubs blooms in the year that they forget the rest of the season. I’m all for flowers, but don’t forget that a focal point plant of any type needs to bring more to the party than a pretty hat. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Focal Point Trees

  1. I have a field I’m turning into a woodland. I’ve planted an amphitheater of evergreens, mostly western red cedar. Then, a circle of eight Himalayan white birch in the center. I’m hoping it will look like a sylvan temple. Nothing is more than four feet tall yet, but a girl can dream.

  2. Love the texture and color of the tall metal pot! While I like the weeping larch, I am learning to rely more on hardscape focal points – they don’t get eaten by deer, die from a tough winter, etc. I just witnessed a herd of deer feeding on my native gold leaf dogwood that was supposed to be the focal point of my garden path – they must have found out how much I paid for it!

Leave a comment